Keep Calm and Whole30 On

In this weeks post, we have Part 2 of the Whole30 journey from Incessant Bookworm. This post covers some of the challenges of being vegan for Whole 30 and ways to overcome them. Remember, there are always alternatives. Just know that anything is possible when you put your mind to it. Good luck to everyone on the Whole30 diet, you’re almost there!


The Whole 30, Part 2

 

Hey all! It’s Courtney from Incessant Bookworm back with a halfway point check-in in my Whole30 journey. Based on what is expected each day throughout the program, I’d say I’m pretty much aligned with that – aka Days 4-5 – KILL ALL THE THINGS, and Days 6-7 – I JUST WANNA NAP! Even Days 14-15 had me dreaming about food – particularly me stealing the complementary breadsticks at an Italian restaurant. One of the challenges I face when planning my meals is making them vegetarian or pescatarian. For vegans, there are even more difficulties and ways to be creative. Fortunately, Whole30 acknowledges varying dietary restrictions and lifestyles and does their best to accommodate and allow for most if not all of the benefits. Check out their forum dedicated to vegans and vegetarians.

For the most part, they expect vegetarians and vegans to still follow all the “rules related to added sugar, alcohol, and baked goods and treats, even if you do include some grain, dairy, or legume-based protein in your version.” The big thing is getting protein and energy so you don’t deprive yourself completely. On my Pinterest Board, I’ve included several of my favorite vegetarian/vegan meals such as:

  • Zucchini Noodles with Avocado Pesto
  • Cauliflower Spanish Rice
  • Butternut Squash and Apple Soup
  • Egg Roll in a Bowl (sans Pork)

I spent weeks planning my menu for the month, and that has helped tremendously when doing my weekly grocery shopping as well as budgeting. Fortunately, Whole30 has got you covered on that front too with personalized meal planning. Here’s how it works:

  • “You’ll choose your Whole30 start date, the length of your program (30 days is the default, but you can enter any number of days, from 1 to 180), and how many breakfasts, lunches, and dinners you’ll want to plan—I’ll give you some of my best pro-tips here;
  • You’ll then be able to customize your Whole30 menu with any extra ingredients you may require;
  • Finally, let the system do the heavy lifting and get you off to the store in a flash. Generate an automated shopping list based on your meals, check off items you already have in your fridge or pantry, and even add a photo of a specific ingredient.”
  • Monthly, Quarterly, or Yearly Package
    1. Whole30 setup
    2. Monthly Real Plan Subscription
    3. Monthly Whole30 Recipe Subscription

Now that I am halfway through, the remaining days will look like:

  • Days 16-28 TIGER BLOOD (basically feeling energized and most of the emotional and physical benefits)
  • Days 29-30 – Wondering what in the world I will do on Day 31……

Stay tuned for my final installment that will tackle the last half as well as what’s next when Day 31 comes around, well earned!

One thought on “Keep Calm and Whole30 On

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

